Northern Rata

At the front I have a Northern Rata (Metrosideros robusta). They're an epiphyte, or at least in the wild they part of their life as one.

In my pot this means that its red roots regularly appear above the soil surface. I'm slowly adding rocks and stones to help protect the above ground roots from baking in the sun.

Mum helped collect many of the larger stones and rocks from the West Coast. 9.5 years later they bring back many memories of taking Mum and Dad to Franz and Fox glaciers, and staying at Okarito.

I'll fill in the gaps with smaller stones. Maybe I need to make a trip out to Birdlings Flat for a stone fossick.

Rata is a cousin of the Pohutukawa tree. The Northern Rata has a similar flower to a Pohutukawa. Some years it should flower at Christmas time.

Today's gratitude: For the end of a challenging week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.