CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Colchicum autumnale, aka autumn crocus

I dropped off a print to Kate F. today, who wanted it as a present for her son. She lives in a nearby street and I managed to get there by car and then a short walk.

I mentioned that I liked her front garden which I walked through into the house, She said I should have a look at some flowers in her back garden which were blooming well. 

Kate planted a couple of Colchicum autumnale, or autumn crocus bulbs when she moved to this house about thirteen years ago. Apparently they have slowly built up their numbers. I couldn't bend down very easily and having no zoom I had limited options for my pictures, but I think this does convey their appeal. I may well send for some of these bulbs myself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.