The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

Game On

There are advantages to having older siblings.

For instance, my sister Margaret introduced me to Backgammon when I was a young teen. At the time, it seemed exotic, but over time, I learned that it is a serious board game. As in Chess, strategy is a must, and one never knows what an opponent may have up their sleeve. There are those of us who will lose a few points, just to slam our opponent a few moves down the road. (Oops!)

Persia, Egypt, Iraq, China, England, Greece, and Turkey are just a few countries where Backgammon, also known as Nard and Tavla, grew in popularity. It is one of the oldest board games for two people. As with any "sport," betting against the odds of winning with a move became a way of monetizing this entertainment.

I spent a large portion of my teens and twenties playing Backgammon. At one point, I was unbeatable. Today, all bets are off. I just like to play for fun.

...Unless I am playing against a computer. That is when you may hear me screaming things inappropriate for the Love Child.

If you have never played Backgammon, please try it. It is a lot of fun, and something that the entire family will enjoy.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.