Mama Maryam

Maryam (far left) is one of the most interesting characters I've taught out here. She's little older than the rest of the students and is married with a couple of kids. The class call her 'Mama Maryam', mostly due to her dominantly mothering nature during activities and gentle ribbing of any boys who think that wearing a baseball cap, jeans and t-shirt instead of a dishdasha makes them cool.

Whilst hanging around for her next class, Maryam asked me why I always had my camera with me. I said that you just never know when you might get a good photo, at which point I suggested her and her friends might like to pose for one.

Well, I tell you, these days they don't need asked twice and after a short flurry of make-up application and eyebrow checking, their poses were set. Maryam decided that looking at the camera was not for her and so struck this somewhat contemplatively thoughtful pose where you can just make out the cheeky beginning of a smirk that says "I'm taking the piss out of you Mr. David".

Class.



-------
From left to right: Maryam, Rabah, Asma and Shadha. I find with the amount of students I teach each year, it can be very difficult to remember their names and so recording them on blip whenever I get the chance seems the perfect way round that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.