Out and About

By LeslieBigos

Every Day Objects - Simple Treasures

I think of myself as a pretty simple person. I don't lust after expensive jewelry, purses or fancy clothes. I do, however, find great satisfaction in quality-made every day objects. In fact, there are some useful objects such a a couple of pairs of scissors and a few nice pens that are little treasures to me. Maybe it is because they start with clean designs and perform simple tasks.

Most people have purchased and lost many pairs of scissors over their lifetime. They purchase their scissors at the local office supply store or craft store and they are quite happy with them.

I, however, take great satisfaction in a couple of pairs of quality scissors that I own. Both scissors are German-made and I have had one pair for over 30 years. If Steve Jobs would have designed scissors, he would have designed these.

Maybe these scissors are just a great example of German engineering. Perhaps the quality, the materials, the design just all came together to make a fine object. Maybe this is what makes people buy a Mercedes or a BMW.

Both pairs of my scissors are sharp and exact. I find this a special quality in scissors that many cheap scissors really don't have. The pair pictured here has a sharp point so I can use it to just cut a single thread or get into a tight corners or cut the hair around my dog's eyes.

The pair pictured here was a birthday gift from my husband and children and I have had it for almost 20 years.

It's funny but I don't lose my special scissors. One reason is that I don't lend them out too easily and I keep them a bit hidden from the rest of the family letting them know they are "mine" and because I view them as "special"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.