Home

Getting there and back is the only negative about visiting Georgia (or Armenia).

This morning I was up just after 6am to leave the hotel at 7.30 for my 9.30 flight. (Remember, Georgia is 3 hours ahead of UK time.) 

The flight to Berlin takes 4 hours. After 3 hours in Schönefeld, I had a 2 hour flight to Edinburgh. From there is was quite painless to get the bus back to my car at the park and ride. I was in the house for 18.30, which was 21:30 Tbilisi time. 

The goods news… the Ryanair flight to Edinburgh was virtually on time (a strong head wind made it a little late, but no-one can blame an airline for Acts of God). 

More good news… my hotel in Tbilisi started breakfast service an hour early, just for me. That is so Georgian. 

Even more good news… Tbilisi Airport working well. Check-in etc were quick and easy. They even missed the bottle of water in my hand luggage. 

I will say nothing about my customer experiences at Schönefeld and Edinburgh. My blood pressure is back to normal, and I want to keep it that way.    

The Blip is sleepy Tbilisi Airport departures. Flights between Georgia and Russia have been banned by Putin since a diplomatic spat about something extremely stupid in the early summer. A lot of the airport’s traffic is to/from Russia, so it has a real ghostly feel about it at the moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.