Sunday

It was time to head back to the big city, for an morning flight on Monday. 

First, breakfast outside, again…

It was a gentle drive through seemingly endless vineyards, then across a 1,620m (5,314 ft) pass, followed soon after by Tbilisi. 

I seem to have relaxed into the Georgian style of driving, and navigating myself across the city to my hotel was not too tricky. In fact both wrong turns can be blamed on the satnav. Being Sunday made things easier, of course.

I enjoyed sitting in the street outside the hotel cafe having a real Sunday afternoon - two glasses of sparkling wine, coffee and cake. 

The evening was positive too. As I wandered through the old town towards dinner, I bumped into someone I know - the guy who led the wine tour I took the other week! We had a good wee blether. 

After dinner I got a text from a friend I have not seen for two years, suggesting it has been too long and we need to do something about it. She is right. 

Blippery… no screenshots of politicians or rugby games. Nope, copyright is king. 

Instead it is the escalator at Rustaveli metro station. The metro system here does not have the Soviet grandeur of Moscow or St Petersburg, but it has a gritty charm of its own. 

I could not resist sticking in an Extra of my afternoon indulgence. 

[Still Backblipping - may catch up tomorrow] 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.