Working on the last bit...

...of my plastic ivy project. Popeye decides he is going to help by sleeping under it. We are on my thatched swing ...

1. It is early and Popeye is asleep.

2. It is still peaceful and the birds are tweeting.

3. Popeye is still enjoying his nap.

4. Popeye shifts position.

5. I have fixed on a yellow silk rose.

6. Popeye: “What on earth was that noise? It woke me up.”
Me: “It was loud.”
Popeye: “That sounded like a sledgehammer...”

7. Popeye: “That hurt my ear.”
Me: “I took my ears off when the noise started.
Popeye: “That’s not fair. My ears stay stuck to my head.”
Me: “Actually I can still feel the vibration of the noise. It is travelling through the ground. I can tell it is horribly loud without even hearing it. It is making me jump."

8. Popeye: “Please can we go indoors? It will be quieter there if you shut all the windows.”
Me: “Okay, we’ll try that.”

9. Popeye: “What in heaven’s name (polite version of Popeye’s words) was that noise? It sounded like something collapsing, and there is still hammering. With a sledgehammer?”
Me: ”Let’s get to safety, before his bungalow falls down...“

A short while later Popeye and I are ensconced on my couch which is the furthest point away from what appears to be the source of the sound and vibration of sledgehammer hammering next door. But to no avail.

It feels as though someone is using a sledgehammer and hammering the insides of my own bungalow. I can still feel the vibration of this hammering on my stone floor and in my couch and I do not have my ears on. Having noise/sound on actually didn't help at all, because of the intense vibration from next door through my stone floor. Popeye is under my blanket on my lap.

Also I am on my 3rd gin and tonic, and I have run out of ice...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.