Resolutions

By RonRagsdale

Rare Sighting

Today was wet and getting wetter when I got up, so I decided to walk to the office instead of riding my bike. As I was going along, under my umbrella, and just crossing the little foot bridge over to the rec ground, I saw a bright flash and fluttering down on the far bank of the river. I quickly got out my camera so I would be prepared for whatever it was. 

It was two amazing kingfishers scrabbling over what appeared to be a small fish. The one who got it flew away in a blur, and this one, who lost out, landed right below me on an overhanging branch -- just sitting there, long enough (that, is, about 1.5 seconds) for me to get one shot! 

I was not only amazed to see TWO kingfishers on the Granta (given the state of our drying up rivers lately), but also amazed that they just happened to be next to the bridge on the one day I chose to walk to work! What a rare sight for anyone -- but especially for me, as I think that was the first time I've ever seen a kingfisher in real life, even though many people have said they've spotted them at various places along the river over the years.

After that amazing start to the day, it steadily went downhill, as I developed a migraine and couldn't go to clay club. I was really annoyed, and still have the remnants of the headache, but I think ordering in fish and chips might just help!

The extra is a shot of a crow taking off across the slightly misty fields and woods this morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.