Healers Healing

We had a guided walk around Cuenca this morning - a lovely vibrant smaller city in Southern Ecuador.  It was all fascinating, some a little disturbing (Guinea Pig cooking), but the market was the most fascinating for its range of produce, wonderful displays, and under the staircase the group of healers working with their herbs and potions.  Some of the women in our group went back to be realigned this afternoon - I devoted myself to photography instead.  

The healing process involved, wafting, rubbing, spitting and rubbing, with potions, herbs and eggs and there was a wide range of locals partaking including an elderly man having work done on his feet, to ladies just wanting their general well-being improved, and in the extra a child being treated - in the shot he is being rubbed with an egg which will then be broken, the contents put into a container and inspected to identify areas to be worked on...

I didn't like the bit of guinea pig I tried.  And I really find the photos I took of the cooking process exceedingly unpleasant.

I love my new panama hat which will have to come home in a case somehow, along with Rob's.  A challenge to come.  But not just yet.

We move into the heat of the Tropics tomorrow and then the day after that we are off to the Galapagos islands!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.