conkers

While I was away on holiday, I read an article about how conkers could be used to wash clothes. As we have a huge tree in the garden which throws down hundreds of conkers at this time of year, I though I'd give it a try...soere is my first conker harvest, looking lovely in the afternoon sunlight. Twenty years of living with this tree has been a delight, not least to our three children, their friends, and all the mice who have kept us awake by rolling conkers around under the floorboards in the night - I eventually banned the kids from bringing them into the house (conkers, not mice).

Anyway, I relived some of those happy conker-gathering memories today and then blitzed my haul in the Magimix. They are now on a tray in the bottom of the Aga. I'll let you know how the next steps go in due course. 

If you fancy having a go yourself, here's the article.

Just don't feed them to your dog :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.