Ramblings from Zambia....

By dcafrica

Stuck....

So as I said yesterday I stopped in a lovely B&B/campsite just outside Chipata!  Unfortunately at 11pm the rain started (first rain in many months) and it was torrential all night. There were a few thunderstorms and lots of lightning too!  It was so hot earlier in the day that it wasn't really surprising! 

I went to leave for the Early Childhood centre in the morning and arrived at this bridge.  I wasn't sure what to do - should I cross or not as the water was streaming and very fast flowing over the bridge!  Thankfully I decided not to as the water was almost a metre deep! 

I went back to the lodge and had to wait until 2.30pm so that I could safely cross and even at that it was quite a terrifying experience.  There are no sides on the bridge and the water was fast flowing but thankfully I made it and am not in Chipata, having missed a day of the school.  But I will go tomorrow!   So, am staying in Chipata tonight in case it rains again!!  So thankful to have rain, just not so much at one time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.