A day in the life

By Shelling

Missing lake

There's a lovely episode in the novel "Fried green tomatoes" by Fannie Flagg, where a flock of ducks land on a lake to rest over night. During the night the lake froze to ice and when the ducks lifted in the morning, they brought the whole lake with them. I guess that is precisely what happened here, there used to be a lake here some time ago.
Or maybe it's because of the drought.

It's been yet another clear, sunny autumn day on the island and I'm fortunate enough to have control over my time so I can decide when I want to go for a walk or not. In the afternoon me and a friend planned a program of poems and music that we can offer old peoples homes or hospitals as a means of communicating, giving some light entertainment and conversation to people who doesn't have easy access to that kind of stimulans.
One could say we give them back their lake.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.