MikeWest

By MikeWest

Shrouded In Mist

After the rain yesterday, I woke to a misty morning and, taking advantage (unusually for me so early), I walked down to the marsh. It was a good move because on my return the sun came out and the mist soon dissipated.

I like the starkness of the bare ash against a faintly visible backdrop of trees still in leaf. The scene falls away in sharpness and saturation as it is enveloped in mist which lends a nice sense of depth.

The only jot of colour is the red dogwood bush which I placed in the centre to anchor the image.

Unfortunately, I had some stray strands of grass in the foreground that were out of focus, but left an unsightly blur on the image. I used a frequency separation technique in PS to remove them which worked remarkable well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.