Poppy

By Poppy

Knitwear from days gone by

My co-pilot's navigational skills were put to the test again today as we drove down to Hoswick and Bigton.

The obligatory coffee and cake in the Community Cafe where we saw a fine selection of old spinning machines and looms. Some fine knitwear for sale and there was a wool carding course taking place at the same time. It's really nice because I am beginning to recognise people and be recognised, having met them in different venues, this year and last.

Before lunch we nipped down to St Ninian's Isle to see the famous sand bar and, low and behold, there were more orcas!  Super to see them, and this time with a young one. I took several photos with my camera but have no way of posting them until I get home! 

We met up with blipper 60°North and his wife at Bigton, so lovely to meet them both. Really nice to finally get to talk to people you have followed and been followed by. We had a wonderful lunch of soup, sandwiches and homebakes in the Community Centre and had a relaxed chat before I left for my whittling class.

We were to learn to whittle a shawl pin, using knives, a scroll saw, hack saw and an axe! What fun! I didn't finish mine, but enjoyed myself and will get it done once I get home.  Only then will it be blipped! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.