A worrying day

Gosh it has been a worrying day.

I woke up to a text from my dad. My mum fell over some time last night and damaged her new hip (had a hip replacement operation a couple of months ago), so she needed an operation to put it right again. The doctors think that it has been put right again now, but it is hurting a lot, so they need x-rays to make sure all is ok. Hopefully we will know more later.

She needs dialysis too, but that has to be in another hospital, so not really sure what they are going to do about that.

And Bridie had her teeth cleaned today too - under general anaesthesia. She will be 14 years old next week, so not really an age, where you want general anaesthesia or any other kind of sedation, but her teeth are really bad and it was hurting her and made her want not to eat very much, so it needed to be done.

I stayed with her during the entire procedure. Luckily my vet is used to me not wanting to leave my dogs, so he was fine with that.

She lost 2 teeth, but besides from that all should be ok now. She is home - still sleeping and knocked out by painkillers. She is lying next to me wrapped in a duvet.

Please keep my mum in your prayers.
Emmy and the Hazyland Boys + a very tired Bridie

Edit at 6 pm.
My mum's hip should be ok again, but she is in pain, so they are keeping her in hospital until tomorrow. She needs her dialysis treatment tomorrow (should have been today), so they will take her directly from this hospital to the dialysis one tomorrow afternoon and hopefully she will be back home tomorrow night.

And Bridie has been awake for about 3 mins. She ate some rice and chicken and now she is sleeping again. I think she will be ok though.


Edit at 11 pm:
Just home from the vets. Bridie nearly died! At 7 pm, I tried to wake her up and get her out for a wee and I couldn't. She was unconscious. We rushed to the vets - the one on duty was 30 mins drive away. Bridie was almost lifeless when we arrived. The vet gave her some antidote to the drugs that she had been given earlier and it helped! She was able to walk in from the car, when we came home. She has been wrapped in warm blankets now and is sleeping again. Gosh - what a day!


PS. Thanks for putting my lovely old dogs on the spotlight page.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.