Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

1804. Words fail me...

I’ll apologise in advance as I took this photo yesterday at the Lidice Memorial....I was going to post it yesterday but decided on the more upbeat view of the Vltava River....
The Lidice memorial is about an hour or so outside of Prague and it’s built on the site of the old Lidice town that was destroyed and supposedly removed from the map by the Nazis as a reprisal for the assassination of Heidrich by some incredibly brave Czech soldiers who were later betrayed and died in a church crypt here in Prague.
Every man, woman and child in Lidice was murdered and this image is from the memorial to the women and children who were killed...it moved me to tears....
It’s such a powerful memorial and when I looked at this little boy at the front he reminded me of my precious grandson.....a terrible tragedy and a dark reminder of the terrible things humans do to other humans....

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.