Summerlee Museum of Industrial Life

Not only exhibits from the early days of industry there was plenty of social history as well .... the latter I found far more interesting probably because I could remember much of it from my own childhood!

I wonder how many folk out there remember the old maps and the high teacher's desk and chair?  My teachers used them and so did I when I started teaching in the middle stages of the primary school .... great views from on high, not a child could escape from my line of vision.  Then, sadly, the classrooms were given a face lift and completely refitted in a modern style.

We had a similar bell, known as the 'hand bell' and it was rung only when the weather was wet to let us children know that we could stay inside at lunchtime.

The extra photo shows some of the items (1940s and 60s) from the old miners' cottages.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.