Some Colour

Went to work, worked, shot this on the way back to the car, went back home.

A good day at work, actually.  To be honest, it's been a good four weeks going on five.  Doesn't change my retirement plans, but it does make me more determined than ever to keep things simple.

There's currently a slight misunderstanding between the Countess and myself, and it's about the Count, who was on holiday for a couple of weeks and went with her to Italy.  I didn't know this right away but apparently she enjoyed herself and, I guess, so did he, and I remarked to her that she must be so glad to be back home, too, after a well-deserved break, whereupon she replied angrily and asked me why I 'refuse to accept' the fact that 'home' with the Count isn't exactly 'home'.  If there's anything the Ellaphant doesn't appreciate, it's being accused of something false, so I did my best to remain civil and explained, as politely as I could, that when I said 'home', I meant her house in St. Raphael, which, admittedly, is a lovely place, and a lovely house, and that I meant she'd be happy to see it again and work on the renovations they want done.  I further clarified that I wasn't really thinking of the Count when I said that, and that, to be honest, her marriage to the Count isn't my business to fix, that it has never been such, and that all I can do to help is simply listen to her.  'Oh, finally you can accept that ...' she said, which stung me somewhat as I've always tried to be objective, especially as I have met the Count (last August, when they were here), after which I made the mistake of remarking that he's a 'nice guy', something she apparently didn't expect or want to hear.  Seriously, how could I say otherwise when we met only for a few hours?  Oh yea, I was supposed to keep in mind everything she'd told me about him, and behave negatively toward him, etc. etc. ad infinitum.  Anyway, after my reply, I said that she most likely had to do her qigong and attend to her herbs, and so 'have a good evening and a good week', and that was that.

The Countess is seriously ill, I understand that, so she's most likely tired all the time, especially with such a disease, and when you're ill and tired you can't think straight.  On the other hand, I didn't think I said anything provoking.  She just has the idea that I don't believe her.  Of course I do.  Unfortunately, though, because I'm thankfully not involved with their marriage, I can look at things objectively.  It is really too bad this way as she seems to want me to be actively involved behind his back and take her side on everything and be just as nasty to him as she is.  AW says we can't interfere as it is not our business, and I fully agree with him.  The Count and the Countess need to sort it out together themselves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.