Imagine the view....

By btc

Penultimate Bridge....

...that's not its name, this is Blackfriars Bridge but it's the last but one of my bridge series before I move onto a new series.

Before I talk about Blackfriars, I want to say a quick shout out to those bridges that have not featured in the series Wandsworth (because it is London's and maybe the world worst bridge, it just looks awful), Kew and Hampton Court (because they just bored me although if I had one more day I may have done Hampton because the picture has grown on me) and Twickenham (because despite all that money down there, it looks like they are obviously too tight to spend money on decent street lights and instead went for the Tesco value range of bright yellow 100 watt bulbs).

Back to the star of the show, did you know that Blackfriars Bridge was originally called William Pitt Bridge but its informal name, after the Blackfriars Monastery which once stood nearby, was generally adopted.

Also the bridge became notorious in June 1982, when the body of Roberto Calvi, a former chairman of Italy's largest private bank, was found hanging from one of its arches with five bricks and around $14,000 in three different currencies in his pockets. The death was initially treated as suicide but in 2005, five suspected members of the Mafia were tried in a Rome court for his murder, but all were acquitted in June 2007 for lack of evidence, apparently the horse head hanging next to him didn't count (I made that bit up).

Again another set of thanks to you all for the spotlight for yesterdays, although I would quite happily of given up my spot to Steve Hughes' breath taking Budapest blip yesterday, I've linked in case you didn't see it. He got 2 hearts and 15 stars from my family alone.

So back to the Tower I go to end the series, here it the start in case you didn't see it, something to try and match. Gulp!!

I forgot to say, there is the ugly Shard!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.