Imagine the view....

By btc

Lambeth Bridge...

...the bridge downstream from Westminster Bridge it is located on the other end of Westminster Palace, the Houses of Commons to most of us.

Those who have followed my blips series will already be aware of the bit of information that I am about to impart, but I will share it for the newcomers. The reason that Lambeth Bridge is red is because it represents the House of Lords whose seat in the palace are Red, just as Westminster Bridge is green to represent the seats in the House of Commons (I still think that information is cool even if you did read it before).

Sticking its head out of the far side of the bridge is Lambeth Palace, home of the Archbishop of Canterbury; I presume that they took over the palace to keep an eye on their political masters across the river. I do however know that Canterbury became the place where Christianity was effectively born in England and the Archbishop is its leader when the Pope's envoy landed there. (So it could quite easily of ended up the Archbishop of Margate!!)

As Londoners I think if you say the word Lambeth people's minds generally drift to walks, poverty or crime, mine thinks of bridges, the Oval, Clapham common and nights out at The Fridge in Brixton (great night out).

And another thanks to the overwhelming response to yesterdays blip (even the insulting suggestions it was photo shopped lol), I think that I might just place bus light trails into all my photos. I had the opportunity with this one but left it.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.