Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Royal Wedding

We just happened to be at the right place at the right time today - not planned, it was totally by chance! Last Wednesday, whilst driving to Mirdif, we noticed Sheikh Mohammed's palace all lit up with the blue lights lighting up the sky. I said to G we should drive past there on our way home to take some pictures. Of course, I forgot. The petrol light was flashing, and I was keen to get to a station asap!

Today, we ventured out in the cool of the evening after having a leisurely day. I say leisurely, G had reports to write and I had things to sort. We went to the Last Exit and had a wander around. It hasn't been opened that long, but already, nearly all the original food trucks have been replaced by new brands.

On the way home, we decided to check out what's happening at the Palace. Couldn't believe our good fortune. The blue searchlights were switched on just as we turned into the driveway. We noticed, immediately, the traditional dancers. It wasn't the plan, but we parked up and ended up staying quite long to take pictures and just enjoy the atmosphere. G has shot the image I have used for my blip.

In case you're wondering, the lights and cultural dancers are to mark the occasion of the wedding of one of Sheikh Mohammed's daughters. We wondered if it might have been for the first UAE astronaut landing safely back to earth!

The last thing to do today was to organise a handyman to fit a new hosepipe for the hand spray in my bathroom. There is something the cleaner does that makes this particular part fail every few months! We have a new hardware store downstairs, so I got to check that out in the process!

The weekend has vanished. Could I ask you to please click here to help towards free mammograms for BCAM? Thank you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.