Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Hawk Drama

I had the perfect Silly Saturday shot but, because of the hawks, it is now my first extra.  It made me stop and laugh out loud.  Really??  If it wasn't for the sign I never would have known!  I'm not really sure why this hill was chosen for this absurd sign out of the hundreds of hills in Colorado.  Many thanks to Admirer for hosting and sorry it isn't my main blip! :-)

As I rode on past the hill that blocked my view I saw something moving in my peripheral vision.  I stopped and turned around and there were two hawks.  The one in my main blip was guarding its kill (prairie dog) and the one in my second extra was trying to steal it.  I think I broke it up by stopping so close to them and the second one flew onto this mound a few yards away and eventually flew off.  In this shot it is staring at the first hawk and the third extra is a little gory but it shows the first hawk staring at the intruder.

I usually keep my camera in a pack on the rear rack of the bike.  Today I decided to just keep it around my neck since I stop for photos so frequently.  I am grateful that I changed my routine or I might have missed these shots. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.