Coming together

Before dawn I was woken by a strong nor'westerly wind battering my open window and blinds. That was a signal to Jasper to get up and cause havoc.

He has a favourite routine that involves running the length of me in bed, before jumping onto my bedside table. Yep, it's pretty hard to ignore. I felt jaded but pushed on with spin and pump.

It rained all morning and the day remained cold and bleak. I had a nana nap on the sofa before heading outside to feed various plants a seadweed tonic.

I'm waiting for my watering can to fill and took the opportunity to record the growth at the front. In the foreground the small cream flowers are the primelias, the NZ native daphne. In time each plant will spread to cover about about 1m. Last weekend I added a lot of fescues here, the blue Banks Peninsula grass.

Today's gratitude: For a restorative nana-nap.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.