Lake Aviemore

I had to make a decision this morning, go away for the weekend or not.

My own bed and no travel versus I'd booked and paid, 3.5 hours travel with someone else driving, sunshine, little wind, the option to fish or stay back at the house...

I've gone away. Everyone else is at the pub and when I've done this I'll go to bed.

I feel so sad but I'm surrounded by beauty. I fished in the sea with my uncle David at least once. He took me out to check a net in high seas in his old clinker dingy with a wee seagull outboard. All I could see were huge waves. I remember him telling me that a launch had smashed against the distant cliffs. I was so glad to get back to the bach where my aunt and cousins were.

Today I felt Dad with me, his pleasure when I hooked into a fish and steady instructions as I played it.

Despite the feeling of concrete in my head and pressure in my ears I out fished the boys. 4, zip and they've all been released back to the lake.

I'll see how I feel in the morning and decide how I spend the day.

Today's gratitude: For the laughter.

Sadness and with it memories to savour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.