stuartjross

By stuartjross

Sigma DP1

I'm pig sick tonight because I think the image above is the last one ever from my Sigma DP1.

Seconds after this I tried another shot. It wouldn't focus (it focuses manually for best results) and then the screen went blank. It went dead completely with the lens still extended. Clutching at straws I hoped it may be the battery but I'm home now, tried that, and its still the same and more alarmingly I can hear a loose bit falling about inside.
Shortly after I got it I had to send it to a workshop to get a speck of dust off the sensor. The whole affair was handled in a very vague manner and I have the horrid thought that it may not have been reassembled correctly. (I have read nothing but bad reports about them since then) Another repair like that would put running costs above initial purchase price.

I'm still inclined to at least get a quote somewhere.

I have blipped about this compact before. It is slow, awkward, difficult to use has a modest F4 fixed focal length lens but it works amazing well with the 4.5mp Foeveon sensor. If there was a score for image quality per pound I think it would be up there with the best of them.

The fact that it was so slow (oh no I have just lapsed in to the past tense about it) meant every shot was thought about carefully because if you messed it up you could wait another minute for it to process.

Anyway, we were working on the north edge of the Monahdliaths today on the slopes around this burn. We were here late autumn and saw a lot of mountain hares. Their coats were mixed colour then but now they are pure white.

Of course anyone with any Sigma suggestions or repair shops I'm all ears, like a mountain hare.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.