Enthusiast

Camera Club tonight and in a change to the scheduled programme Tony showed us his new toy in all its large, unwieldy, laborious upside down-ness.  

It was really great.

We didn't envy camera club member Gemma, who had volunteered as a model to keep very still (and not blink) for the film exposure photo which Tony will develop tomorrow.

Flashed me back to an old family story.  My Granddad was in the Navy away from home in the 1940's.  My Grandma was at home with  my Dad aged 5 and my Aunty Margaret who was less than a year old and a daughter whom my Grandad had hardly (never?) seen.  My Grandma spent a considerable amount of money having a photograph taken of her and the children to send to her husband Joe who was abroad fighting.  But Margaret was blinking and the photo was terrible and my Grandma was distraught and I've a feeling  the photo never got sent.

I've seen the photo - it wasn't flattering - but so precious now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.