KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

Creatures in the Fall Garden

We're about to experience another shift in the weather...not unusual, I suppose, for this time of year. I love the brilliant blue-sky, crystal clear sunny early fall days - and we've had a few of them recently. Today was a bit cloudy but in the high 60's and some partial sun. Sadly, tomorrow is forecast to be a high of 55 F and rain. Ugh. I play golf with the Ladies Club at my local golf course on Tuesday mornings, but admit to being a fair weather golfer. Cold, wet, muddy, yuck.

But that's tomorrow! Just got back in from the garden where I found a number of interesting critters. Today's blip is a bumblebee sipping nectar from Verbena bonariensis or Tall Verbena. The extra photos are of a Spotted Cucumber Beetle lurking inside a rose blossom - for some reason these beetles inhabit my garden although I do not currently grow any cucumbers. The last photo is of a spider hiding inside its web in a Calla Lily plant. I did see a little green frog in my big perennial garden, but he moved too fast for me to capture him. But I saw his hiding place tucked in the stone wall so I might be able to find him again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.