flavia13

By flavia13

THE MINSTER, VIKINGS AND HARRY POTTER

A lovely day today, in all respects.

I had a great night's sleep, best in a while.  On waking up the throat was much better and I just felt a lot better - again best I've been for a couple of weeks - yeah!!!

I then pulled the curtains back et voila - SUNSHINE.  Glorious.  

After breakfast we caught the bus down the Railway Station, founds a Jessops and bought myself two new SD cards.  The one I had in the Lumix went walkabouts yesterday afternoon.  It HAS to be in the Granny Annex 'cos we hadn't been out since I took it out of the camera.  But we have pulled out furniture, hunted in pockets, books, magazines, under the rug, sofa etc etc - I'm guessing Dobbie has been playing tricks again!!!

Still not found.  So lucky I googled where to find a camera shop.  

We then went to York Minster.  It is very difficult to get an outside shot that doesn't involve loads of people or traffic - this best I could get.

Spent a couple of hours in there.  I mostly used the Lumix inside because I could use the zoom as there were quite a lot of people around and you couldn't get any ground level ones that didn't include them.  Still great for the Minster.

Some of it has scaffolding around where they are doing a large restoration project.  Still saw quite a lot though.  Went down into the dungeons but decided not to fit in the museum part this time.

We then went to Bennett's for coffee and a raspberry tart for me, coffee and Ginger Parkin for Hubby.

Amazingly we then found our way, with the aid of a map to the Jorvik Centre.  So amazed that it is a modern shopping centre!!.  Queues outside, but not too bad, and the school parties go in separately anyway.  Almost decided not to bother but we persevered.  So glad we did.  It was amazing - so very well done.  You get a little electronic carriage ride taking you through Viking Village scenes, smells, etc.  Couldn't believe how magic it was.  Then I had a coin struck for me by a Viking Tradesman (well OK a visitor centre employee!!!).  

After this we went into the Shambles - we found the Harry Potter street - TWO Harry Potter shops, several Potter themed named shops - such The Shop That Must Not Be Named.  Too difficult to get photos down here as it was so busy - well it was 1.30 pm by now.  Will go back later in the week earlier to see if I can get some semi decent photos.

Had a very nice light lunch.  Popped into M&S again to get some food for tonight, then a walk through the city back to the Station to catch the bus.  We always seem to get the bus that doesn't quite go our way so have a bit of a walk - but that's great as it alongside the Racecourse and Park and on a day like today - lovely.

That's it for today.  Such a lovely day.  Tomorrow will either be World War II themed or Steam Trains - haven't quite decided yet.

If anyone is planning to visit York within the next 12 months we have tickets for both the Minster and Jorvik which last the whole year apparently - Happy to send them on.

LOVELY LOVELY DAY.

York Minster
The Shambles
Jorvik Centre
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.