Tongland Abbey

Today's the day ……………………….. to stop digging

It was my last day at the Tongland  Abbey Archaeological Dig today - and I shall miss it greatly.

Next week, they will begin the infilling process.  All the trenches will be lined with a membrane covering all the walls etc that we have found - and the man with the digger will push all the soil back in.  Not sure I could watch that!

I like to think that it was me that uncovered the wall on the left of this picture.  Or at least, it was me who happened to be trowelling away and discovered that if you removed some of the random-looking pile of rubble, there were stones with straight edges that formed a line.  The dark-coloured section between the two walls is a channel that brought water into the Abbey.  It is lined with big vertical slabs of stones and is very deep.

So many exciting times shared with a really nice bunch of people.  I've learnt such a lot.  And the good news is that, contrary to what was thought, the Dig will happen again next year - which is brilliant.

Count me in ……………………...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.