Sebulon

By sebrose

Crumbling

Claire and I take a walk down the track early afternoon to pick sloes. The Castlecraig boundary wall hasn’t been maintained for as long as we’ve lived here and it’s beginning to tell. A whole section by the Old Watermill has collapses already and plenty more is well on the way.

I truck into town for the opening evening of Lean Agile Scotland and check into my AirBNB that looks onto Salisbury Crags. It’s a two bedroom duplex, but it transpires that the guy I was going to share it with has decided to stay in the centre of town, so I’ve got the place to myself.

The warmup, community event has two speakers. Sophie gives a solid explanation of strategy and is followed by Romeu who is talking about the sociological theories of Pierre Bourdieu. Bottom line is, life is 99% luck - there is no meritocracy.

This segues into the speakers dinner, where the undeserving few drink and dine on crisp white tablecloths of curfew. Only I spill half a glass of red on mine, somewhat spoiling the effect. Luckily none of my neighbouring diners suffer collateral damage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.