The Letter...

2 years ago I had my biennial breast screening on the same day as a friend so when this year’s appointment arrived I assume it was also on the same day as hers. But I would be away on holiday so had to postpone until 1 October.
My friend posted on Facebook that 2 weeks after the mammogram she received the all clear so I was expecting my results in the middle of next week.
Last week; just 2 days after my appointment I received a letter from the Board of Health. I can easily recognise their letters because they use a distinctive red colour to stamp private and confidential on the envelope and they are one of very few who address me as Mrs rather than Ms.
Since this was so early and because I have already had breast cancer, I expected the worst and opened it in trepidation. It was indeed an appointment and I thought “How strange that Yve, my rheumatology nurse practitioner had transferred to breast care.” It took quite a few minutes to sink in that this had nothing to do with the mammogram. So calm and hope was restored.
This morning this was waiting for me when I came home. Addressed to Mrs but no red stamp!
So I opened it and was shocked to see the heading was States of Guernsey Hospital Services. So my heart sank yet again. It was just a week since my appointment so surely bad news. But oh Joy! All clear!
I must admit I had to check a couple of times that I did read it correctly but yes happy to say it’s still there in black and white...
I don’t know at what age they stop recalling but if I get called at age 72 in 2 years time the panic will start all over again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.