Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

New people in town

It was so wonderfully cool this morning that after walking the dog for a mile plus here at home I decided to go to the Ninety-Six historic site where I knew there were some trails in the woods that were not very strenuous for walking but would be a good distance for me.   

When I got to the little town of Ninety-Six there were scarecrows everywhere along the main street there.   From what I could tell, the businesses in town and the schools all made scarecrows representing their business or sport.    I loved the pumpkin head standing upside down and being a former employee of the electric cooperative, the lineman hanging on the pole was great!     My favorite had to be the skeleton in the "tanning bed" which was on display in front of the tanning salon.    Might not be too great for business!     At the little fire department they had a scarecrow fireman.  There were so many of them I did not even take photos of them all.

In honor of breast cancer awareness month the water in the decorative fountain in town had PINK water!   

The forest was beautifully green at the park and I only saw one other person walking their dog when I was getting ready to head back to the parking area. There were people at the visitor center but no one was on the trails but me!  It was so very quiet!     I spent some time with a stick after I had several spider web in the face to happen!  Yuck!   Then I was like..."where is the spider!?"!  I was brushing my clothes continuously and my hair!       Not much leaf color at all in that area which is about an hour  west of where I live.   But there were plenty of hardwoods that might turn in a couple of weeks.   I will be going back there soon!   

In the extras in a collage of some of the trail which shows a few of the various bridges over the creek that runs through the park which was completely dried up.  There was one part where the larger creek flowed that had water.     And one of those silly spiders that almost got me!  

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.