The Hollow Mountain

En route to our three night deal at Portsonachan we stopped off to visit the Cruchan Power Station.

It's an amazing feat of excavation through solid granite and then the science of setting up the huge turbines became too technical for me! The station was opened by the Queen in 1965 ..... a momentous year in more ways than one ... I left school!

The tour to the heart of the mountain began with a bus ride and then we walked up to the viewing platform which towered above the turbines .... a real James Bond scenario.

PS .... the internet is not very reliable here and is only available in some areas.  This must be the first time I have ever sat at the table and typed up my blip while waiting for my dinner! Chances of any commenting are unlikely before Sunday when L and I head back to Elie.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.