atoll

By atoll

Where Are We Now?

I genuinely hadn't thought that my hazy lazy Jupiter blip of the 4th had been influenced by any external forces, but I guess now it must have been affected subliminally by either media hype and advertising or cosmic rays. This is because tonight ironically was the start of the BBC2 Stargazing Live series for 2013, and from which my mentioned star map from last year originated. The programme was even filmed live from Jodrell Bank for goodness sake. Somebody out there is trying to tell me something I guess.

Sadly, whilst I thought I might try another piece of this 'stargazey pie' (cross-referencing that dish from daughter J's all-time favourite childrens book the Mousehole Cat), there was not a peep of light to be seen up in the heavens tonight. Ironically even the boffins on TV struggled to see anything of note with their telescopes because of the cloud cover, so no chance for little me with my trusty iPhone. The programme was fascinating though, not least for the state of Brian May's hair.

Instead then, here is my backup blip from the morning's dawn, taken from the exact same spot and angle of my earlier Jupiter blip.

Happy to report that plans this weekend are for us all to finally visit the planetarium at Jodrell Bank, plus I have already ordered my free Open University starmap from the website.

Postscript: Another significant today was starman David Bowie bringing out Where Are We Now? his first single for 10 years to mark his 66th birthday, and with an album The Next Day also due in March.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.