MikeWest

By MikeWest

Autumn Gold

A break in the rain allowed me to nip out for a while and explore the leaves turning colour as the autumn season progresses. I found this pocket of bright orange and yellow surrounded by green and I liked the framing provided by the trunk and overhanging branch.

In post I emphasized the contrast of intensity to create a feeling of warmth, despite standing in the wet.

Technical note:

On the subject of colour, I have been frustrated by the difference between the image I edit in LR and after export when viewed as a jpg in windows, which is usually over saturated.

I discovered a number of issues whilst investigating. The first thing is I use a wide gamut monitor that can display more colours than a standard sRGB monitor. Although I calibrate the monitor, the icc profile produced can sometimes be dropped by windows and in my case it had, probably after one of the recent windows updates. I must therefore check the profile is in use now and then which is achieved through Colour Management in the Control Panel. This could impact the colour in images I edit without a profile.

Lightroom and Photoshop are colour managed applications that will utilize the default windows display icc profile. Most photo viewing applications on windows are not colour managed and so try to display jpgs as sRGB and on a wide gamut monitor result in the over saturation.

Consequently I decided to use the LR export facility to display the resulting jpg in Firefox, my browser of choice, which is colour managed. This gives me reassurance that when I post the image it will display as I intended it (other factors outside my control excepted).

I also found that FastRawViewer is a (modest cost) program that is colour managed and can be set as the default windows photo viewer for jpgs (as well as raw).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.