Today's Special

By Connections

Art-Full

We spent several hours at the marvelous New Mexico Museum of Art today, and I’d happily go back again tomorrow.

When it opened in 1917, it was the first building in New Mexico dedicated to art. The style of the building, called Pueblo Revival, uses modern construction materials made to look like the historic adobe churches of this region. The warm tones of the adobe and the rounded corners are very appealing to me, as was the beautiful interior courtyard at the museum, which still had flowers blooming there.

Given my two-finger typing on my iPad mini and the lateness of the hour, I won’t go into detail about all that we saw at the museum. I chose this evocative bronze statue as my favorite artwork to share here. “Seated Navajo Woman” (1978) is a life-size work by Navajo artist R.C. Gorman (1937-2005). She is found in a small interior courtyard at the museum, along with several other sculptures.

There were many other lovely artworks in the museum, and the building itself is a treasure. We’re also treasuring the vibrant blue sky and sunshine!

(I’m sorry to be such an intermittent commenter, and plan to do better once back in the rainy northwest.)

Blip 2029

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.