Resolutions

By RonRagsdale

Bright Anemones

Today was a very lazy, wet stay-at-home day. For the first time in a long time, I slept soundly for 8 hours! I made an apple crumble, finished a tax return, read the last chapter of a novel I was reading (The Maze Maker, by Michael Ayrton), finished the last bits on the Little Free Library I've been building for a friend, made Singapore noodles for dinner, and dug out all my old poetry that I wrote mostly in my 20s. 

I hadn't even thought about getting out to take photos, it was so grey, but at one point, the rain had let up to a light drizzle and I took a few shots of the remaining blooms in the back garden. I liked this one of the anemones, and thought it might go well with one of my old poems:

Degrees of Freedom

When the rains fall back
to the clouds which tear open
with toothed edges
to expose the sun,

& flowers shake off
the sweat beading on petals
that quaked
with fear of frost

then the wood paths call
to my smiling feet,
massaging callouses
with pine bark and clover

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.