Happy Birthday, Rocks!

A few days ago Mark received a text saying that January 9th had been nominated as Aphrodite's birthday. I have no idea why she would need a birthday, or why it would be in the coldest month of the year, but there we have it, today is her birthday. We were invited down to some kind of ceremony at 8.30am to celebrate Aphrodite's birthday, but at that time this morning it was actually hailing, so we declined and waited until the afternoon to go and give her our best wishes (this isn't strictly true, we were just passing on our way back from the shops).

Whenever I come down to the rocks, I always think of Botticelli's painting of the birth of Venus, although I think he must have chosen a slightly warmer month for her birth, and I can't say I blame him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.