Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Footbridges, Bracebridge, Sutton Park

It always makes me smile when I visit this location.  Wonderful memories of a school trip when I was 10 to Sutton Park.  We were even allowed to swim out in the pool to a small island in its centre.  To reach the 'beach' from where we swam, you had to cross 17 small footbridges crossing small ditches that channeled the water from the surrounding land into the pool.

I wanted to see how the autumn colours were progressing in the park.  I certainly looks as though the last week of weather has kick started the transition.  Horse chestnuts and silver birch are both showing a fair amount of colour.  The bracken is beginning to brown off and it won't be long before we get those lovely autumn hues.  Driving back afterwards, it was clear that many of the more ornamental trees are well on their way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.