madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Woolfest

Well we packed things in today! Started coffee and the exchanging of birthday presents! This went on intermteently throughout the day! My sister gave me a beautiful felted set of The twelve Days of Christmas - they may well be my blips nearer the time!! Then it was time to turn the leaven made last night into the sourdough, then a walk throiugh the woods. We dropped in on Nellie of the Woods to say hello. Once home it was a shower and the first folding of the sourdough! Then off to the Woolfest at Kelly House.
The place is frozen in time - well as far as interior decor goes! I spotted a radio from the fifties! The actual building is slowly becoming derelict! Rusting gutters and drainpipes, flaking plasterwork, a pervasive smell of damp! I love it! The elderly couple who own it now live in the coach house - which is missing one entire side, well it has the front wall still intact - ish! Look at the next few photos and you can see how the end of the house has been blocked up with plastic sheets and breezeblocks! We had a chat with one of the ushers in the carpark and she said it had been selected for that programme that turns around old houses into a thriving business. They gave up on this house! 
As soon as we entered the house we were in a  underwater knitland! I loved the mermaid! The Woolfest takes up 4 rooms and was full of wonderful stuff! We both bought wool! As if either of us need another knitting project - I already have two on the go, my sister has more! We had a cup of ginger and lemon tea and a piece of carrot cake next to a roaring fire in the enormous hearth and then made our way out. This is when we saw the hens! Perfection! 
Our next stop was Pets At Home in Launceston as my sister wanted a particular cat litter tray! I bought more snacks for Oscar and the birds! 
Once home it was back to showing my sister how to maker sourdough - more folding! Part way through we settled down with our fish and fennel stew to watch Strictly! Perfection again!
A fun packed day, despite the fact my digestive system was in uproar all day! Been a long time since it was so bad but I wasn't going to let it spoil our day! I did go to bed at 10 with a hot water bottle!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.