madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Magical

I was up and out early to walk Oscar as I had a pottery session. The mist was still covering the valley but as I walked up through the woods I came out of it and found myself walking in a cobweb wonderland! The sun was highlighting them all and there were so many!  It felt like someone had decorated the place for Halloween or The Sleeping Beauty! When I was walking back down through the woods  I was transfixed and awed by the sight of the sun breaking through the trees casting a circular rainbow! Then I saw these cobwebs caught in the morning light. I think this one was still in the process of being made! Oh my it was all so beautiful it made my heart sing! Maybe it was this that meant my pottery session was a success! I cast a pot on my first throwing! 
I had given the potter a sourdough loaf and her husband had requested another. He came into the studio and we had a chat about sourdough. He is an independent  project manager and it showed! He is also one of those people ( mostly men!) who speak their mind! I love that! He asked me to talk through my process of making the sourdough saying there were no big air bubbles and he preferred a soft crust and why wasn't it long shaped!! So I explained the process and he was gobsmacked at the many stages and length of time it took! I told him I thought I had overproved the loaf and would try being quicker in the folding and proving process. Also that I would leave it in the fridge overnight as that was supposed to make the bread sourer. He left saying what he wanted from me was communication and notes! His wife apologised for his bluntness and i said no worries - I appreciated it and it was only by getting a critique would my sourdough making improve ( fingers crossed!)
Unfortunatly as the day progressd a headache developed - but once you start the sourdough process there is no stopping! I made 2 doughs but ran out of white flour and had to use some white rye flour - so immediatly I had entered another factor into the taste and structure! Also the rye dough became very sticky even though I didn't add all the water! I didn't finish the last step until midnight so both had to go into the fridge overnight - so I guess that took the variables down to two not three! I was relieved that both doughs did rise - at one point I was thinking I had made an error with my leaven and that neither would. I shall have to wait to the morning and the baking to see if either will be edible! Also the slicing to see how many holes and what size they are!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.