Your phone looks different...

...Mum

Your eyes look weird Popeye...


Photo taken with new Android phone. 
I don't know how to use it properly yet.

Yesterday someone sent me a link by email to Giffgaff for a cheaper phone plan.

I had already worked out the phone I was going to go for because of the mess Apple had made of this latest IOS update, badly affecting my cochlear speech processor compatability and also my iPhone. There were plenty of phone stores selling it and I needed to handle it to make sure it is compatible with the equipment I've got for it, and that it had a jackplug socket for my equipment. .

So I'm comparing the giffgaff plans with the phone plan I had chosen. But then my chosen phone is not there anymore, the phone shops are out of stock now.

Apart from one phone shop which still has the phone I wanted in stock.

So I literally went into panic mode because I could have gone and got it yesterday.

I was going to leave it till Friday but apparently because it was a good offer it was going very quickly. 

I compared the data plan with the Giffgaff plan and there was very little difference between the two plans. If I had not received that email yesterday (so thank you) I would not have been able to get the phone from the phone shop to look at it and try it out with my Cochlear hearing equipment to know if it was suitable and compatible, or the data plan I wanted.

Because I checked I realised it's being sold out very fast.

So this Tuesday morning literally saw me camped outside the phone shop before it opened...

Finally I emerged with this black Android phone all working and ready to use. I still have to install apps and stuff and check out settings and the way I want alerts, (I will do them tomorrow) but I've got mail and text working, so I'm happy for the moment.

The main thing is that this Android is not sending all alerts notifications phone calls as loud sounds ringing and everything else Apple was sending to inside my skull at a dangerously loud insane level.

There has been another small update by Apple but it has not corrected any of these faults that are driving cochlear users and deaf users and others completely insane.

I have been on the Apple forum today and there are distraught Cochlear users with high-end new iPhones, which have recently been bought to be compatible with with the Cochlear stuff. And they have one useless  expensive iPhone which they cannot use because the IOS update has made them unusable.

So far I am pleased with my purchase. It is completely different to use. I may not use it for photography because I am used to the iPhone and iPad for that. I’ve got to use these useless Apple objects for something. But I cannot wear my Processor while using them because they connect up to my Speech Processor with a trill and a chirp even though I have disabled Bluetooth. And I do not want to hear another trill or chirp in my head...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.