A Day Away

It was a damp misty morning when I left on the bus for Peebles to meet up with my Kelso friends at a sort of compromise mid point between our homes.

The mist was low over the Pentlands and everything was dripping with dew. However 2 hours and a coffee later the sun was out as I walked along the banks of the Tweed. The trees were turning autumnal and there were beautiful coloured reflections in the water, but is on these occasions that I so miss the presence of HL at my side. We had done this very walk so many times when we visited Peebles.

By the time I got back to the town, my friends had arrived and so we sallied forth to Coltman’s for lunch and a general catch up on family news.
My poached eggs, avocado and bacon on granary toast slipped over very easily and with no wine in deference to the driver, I was stone cold sober as they walked me back to the bus stop in the sunshine.
A lovely day and wonderful to have such good friends. Added to that it was uplifting to see the borders in sunshine wearing autumnal garb.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.