SpotsOfTime

By SpotsOfTime

Our Lady’s Well

Last blip and testament

This may be my last blip (just eaten the mushrooms) but what a way to go.

Apologies to freespiral who is probably wondering where on Earth the well is in this blip. I’ll have to wait until I get home to download it so this is holding the place in the meantime. It was going to be my blip originally until the day took an unexpected turn.

I’m SO excited... I found it at last! I hadn’t gone out with the intention of finding this well because I had done some research and realised it was on private ground so I’d given up any hope of being able to look for it.
https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2143150134811167101

So, the day started with me rolling out of bed again and into my wellies to catch the 0823 high tide. It was splendidly dreich as you can see. I then took all the stuff I’d sorted yesterday to the hospice shop and it was still dull so I decided to try and get this decrepit old body going and hopped on my bike. I cycled towards Burnham Market and then followed all the byways, full of field/horse mushrooms to the Carmelite Friary at Burnham Norton. I gazed wistfully in the direction of the Well and wondered if I could do some surreptitious investigations. By sheer good luck there were gardeners at work so I bit the bullet and asked it I could see the well. They went in search of the owner who took me down to it. What a marvel! Lots of bubbling fresh water that led on down to a pond that the owner thought had probably been the monastic fish pond. It’s believed that her house had been the old granary. Beyond runs the river Burn which was once navigable to here and would have been important for the monks but it has long since silted up. Luckily all the gardening work meant that it had been cleared of a mass of watercress and lots of other vegetation that had built up over the summer so I had a perfectly clear well timed view...and of course, I had to have a good slurp too!

https://insearchofholywellsandhealingsprings.com/2011/12/11/a-norfolk-field-trip-holy-wells-of-north-norfolk/

After all that excitement I pressed on up Joan Shorts lane (I have no idea) and on to Burnham Thorpe. Popped in to Nelson’s church and then carried on to Burnham Overy Staithe and back via Burnham Market and Burnham Norton (there’s a lot of Burnham’s in this neck of the woods).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.