Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Conoco Plant layout

today I started to set up the Conoco plant for Dolores on the Sn3 layout. This is a Raggs to Riches kit and the kit and directions are the best I have every used.  Just plain fun. Not easy and a little challenging but follow the directions and it just works out.  Every word counts.

The buildings and platform are not weathered as yet.  I wanted to prepare the layout first, then remove everything for weathering.  The slotted wood to the left of the platform is a guide where the tanks etc should go prototypically.  There are four tanks and piping etc.  All have been built and painted, but are awaiting weathering.  Also the buildings get barge boards, stairs to the platform, signage, etc.  As well as lots of details - 55 gallon drums, people, etc.  I have decided that son's and DiL's cabin and horse barn work where I have them now across the tracks.  I also decided to enlarge the pond by the road and tracks and make it less deep.  Probably reduce the size of the road as well along it - the real plant was at the end of a dead-end road so I don't need a road so big.  The pond as it is now was never right to my eye - too quickly done and too deep.  The elongated pond will be better.  Once it is in I will blip that as well.

For now - I will mark all the building locations and remove them for weathering.  Then I can get the base layer of landscaping in the right place, and scrape off the old stuff that would be under the buildings.  I tested the location with tank cars and the largest locomotive to make sure there was enough room. Fun stuff.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.