"I COULD GET USED TO THIS!" PINKTOBER 16

Hello Lovely Blippers, 

When I heard Mrs. HCB telling her husband that she was going over to the Swindon 105.5 Radio Station this morning for a live radio programme called Girls About Town, I thought that it might be a good opportunity to go along for the ride.

I never thought that I would be able to sit in an actual studio, and wear headphones - almost like a proper DJ - you can see from the collage, that they are rather large, but as the wolf said to Goldilocks, “All the better to hear you!”  Then surprise, surprise, I met an actual DJ - although I don’t think Jo would call herself one of those, but you should see the way she pushes those sliders up and down and monitors the sound - what a whizz!  She was lovely and was definitely up for letting me have my photograph taken with her and Mrs. HCB - and you can see all three of us in the top photograph of the collage.

Having had such a lovely morning, when I got home and heard Mr. HCB suggest that they could go out for a coffee this afternoon, I was definitely NOT going to be left behind, so I jumped into Mrs. HCB’s shopping back and we were off.

I think Mr. HCB intended going to John Lewis, but on the way, Mrs. HCB mentioned that a friend had told her that they do a very good cup of coffee at “The Cornerstone”, which is a new venture at the recently opened C of E (Church of England - for those who don’t know) Deanery Academy, just near Waitrose, so that’s where we went.

On arrival we were greeted by a smiling lady named Caroline, the barista/waitress;  she made us all very welcome and was happy to tell us more about the venture, which apparently, is for anyone to use, but particularly for the community around the new Academy.  

I could see that Mr. HCB was looking longingly at the cakes and he was tempted, and succumbed, I might add, to a very large piece of Victoria sponge.  I have to say that Mrs. HCB amazed me when she turned down the opportunity to have a piece of cake.  Mind you, they all looked scrumptious, so I have no doubt they will be going back at some point in the future - I just hope they remember to take me with them.  It was “card only” as apparently, the school is “cash-less” but that didn’t seem to worry the HCBs and Mr. HCB declared the Victoria sponge to be "excellent"  as was the coffee, and they even had decaffeinated for Mrs. HCB.

So a grand finish to a lovely day - with lots of opportunities to speak about BCAM - and Caroline was more than happy for me to pose sitting on top of one of the cakes - as you can see - not literally, you understand, as that would have been against “Elf & Safety”  regulations, but on top of the cake cover.  I even heard Mrs. HCB telling her that they would give a “shout out” about “The Cornerstone” on the Girls About Town programme as they are always happy to promote good things in the various communities around Swindon.

It’s a hard life being a BCAM bear but I do get to see life and as I said, I could get used to this!

Please join me (and Mrs. HCB) during 
Breast Cancer Awareness Month
By clicking HERE
So that those who are not able to pay
Can have a free mammogram.  

“Each day comes bearing its own gifts;
     untie the ribbons.”
Ruth Ann Schabacker

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.