A day in the life

By Shelling

Close to life

In an earlier blip, here, I've described the excavating work the university in Kalmar so I won't go into detail about that.

Today, was the last lecture for us, the interested common people, about what they think went on in the homes of the people living their lives here. The extra shows the doorstep into the house they are excavating and the leader of it gave us permission to walk through the entrance if we wanted. It's not everyday you get the chance to step into a house from the iron age. Of course I did use the steps to go in and out and I must say there was something happening with my imagination doing it. 

The main blip is a "hone" or a "wetstone". First, they found an iron knife, almost totally honed down. Directly afterwards they found this stone that after cleaning it a bit proved to be, maybe, the hone they used for the knife. History comes to life, I even held it in my hand. The little groove you see in the stone is for sharpening needles.

Tomorrow morning is the last half day of excavation before they have to restore the site to the state it was before they started digging. Everything is carefully and digitally mapped though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.