Developing...

By AnnW

Stained Glass

Taking a short cut this morning between Westminster Abbey and St Margaret's Church I caught sight of this window and it stopped me in my tracks. I've walked past St Margaret's Church before and not noticed but this morning there was a light on inside the church and the window jumped out at me.

The church dates from the 12th and was built by Benedictine monks so that local people who lived around the abbey could worship at a simpler parish church. Thanks to the Internet I have found out that there's a window to commemorate the wedding of Henry VIII to Catherine of Aragon so I'll have a look for that next time.

It's the parish church of the House of Commons. Samuel Pepys, Winston Churchill and Harold MacMillan were all married there and Sir Walter Raleigh amongst others was buried there.

Isn't Wikipedia wonderful!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.