BRUISED BUT NOT BROKEN - PINKTOBER 18

This beautiful Compassion rose was plucked from the bush after being battered by wind and rain - it may be bruised, but it’s not broken;  it's still beautiful and the perfume is amazing too.

I am now able to enjoy its beauty on my kitchen windowsill and will do so until it fades.  As I look at this beautiful rose, I think of the two lovely people who gave it to Mr. HCB and me when we were baptised almost twenty years ago.  

Pete and Angie were very good friends of ours, and although we didn’t see them often, there was a close bond between us.  Whenever we visited, Pete and Mr. HCB would enjoy time together, playing computer games together, and we would often hear shouts from upstairs as Angie and I chatted downstairs.  Angie made the most wonderful cakes and puddings and we always came back a few pounds heavier, after a weekend with them! 

Angie died a few years ago, but whenever I see this lovely rose, I think of her - a wonderful Christian lady who always thought of others before herself and who went out of her way to make others happy.  

Angie loved her garden, having worked in horticulture when she was younger, so taught me a lot whenever we visited, so if we weren’t chatting in the kitchen, making cakes or even washing up, we enjoyed wandering around the garden together.

Beautiful memories and I hope this Compassion rose will continue to bloom year after year so that we can remember our dear friends.

Please join me during 
Breast Cancer Awareness Month
By clicking HERE
So that those who are not able to pay
Can have a free mammogram. 

“There are moments when I wish 
     I could roll back the clock 
          and take all the sadness away, 
but I have the feeling that if I did, 
     the joy would be gone as well.” 
Nicholas Sparks : A Walk to Remember

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.